Afterworld : Rebirth

Discussion in 'Afterworld' started by Tesla Coil, Oct 29, 2013.

1. Took this post from the official Afterworld forum.
    As for it looked Afterworld had almost ended this post seems very promissing.
    Enjoy reading all!

You can find the original post here.

Good news, everyone!

But first, allow me to introduce myself. My name is Anti A. Danilevski (yes, Anti is a real name) and I'm a game producer and game designer. I'm working in gamedev since 1995, as a game designer since 2000, as producer from 2008-2009. I've been working on russian titles, some of them were successful and in top popular, some weren't so good. Anyways, I've been invited to AfterWorld project as a consultant and to help AfterWorld survive. Our first meeting with Victor occured about 2 months ago and I had some time to think and explore the game before I made decision.

I'm glad to inform you that I have accepted their invitation and I will try to push the development forward. During the last month I've been looking for candies money and, today, I'm happy to share the really good news: I managed to raise about $100k for the next stage of development. From november to december we will form a new company and do paperwork. From 15th january we will begin fullpower development. Still, we won't have a big team, but it will be enough to finish the evolution from the old game and old engine to Torque3D.

What should you expect in the future: not much until March. We will be working on a server-side technology - server clusterizatoin - and, finally, we will finish seamless and continios world. After this, we will be able to spawn thousands of creatures and our servers won't lag/slowdown. Clusterization will also allow us to maintain more players, dynamically splitting servers to the small virtual parts when it is necessary, and each part will be handled by it's own server.