One Tip for New Players?

Discussion in 'Tutorials & guides' started by Meg, Apr 19, 2011.

1. Meg

Meg Next Island : Game Content Designer

If you were going to give one suggestion to a newbie, what would it be?

2. Patience :)

[​IMG]

Cause I know one day I will beat the shit out of some uber!

Please don't ruin my dream, its all I have left to hold on too :)

3. narfi

narfi Lost

1. What she said x3
    This is a long term game, I have been playing for over 3 years now and am still learning things every day. Those were 3 years of careful daily study.

2. Don't rush into anything, enjoy where you are.

3. Every aspect of the game is fun with the right mindset.

4. Understand that you won't get rich here, it is a game we pay to play. The real money aspect just makes it 'feel' more real to us, and gets us more emotionally attached.

5. Because the developers need their pay, the only way to make it here is through a regular deposit schedule, OR by careful planning of your activities to maximize the markup you gain from other players while minimizing the markup you pay other players. Planning your play style around your budget is key to enjoying the game. (MU = markup, the price over the base game value something is sold p2p for)

fyi, I'm too stupid to count to 1.

narfi

4. red

red

red's rule: have patience, do proper research, and maintain a realistic budget.
    corollary: avoid touts and do not chase the winds for global or hall of fame swirls as coloured lights can hypnotize.

5. Be aware of this forum.

I have mentioned the forum to newbies in-game and they didn't seem to know about it. Same is true in other games, players come in to play the game and don't know about the forum.

After this forum they should be aware of the forums/websites/wikis for EU and for other planets - lots of useful information.

6. i always teach new players one thing.